Ideas for Apple and iOS Updates

I’m a big fan of Apple and been so well before the i(insert name) craze took off in the 21st Century. I’ve been using the product lion long before feline cats were linked to operating system versions and when the Newton was the handheld device you carried around with you. I wanted to put out a quick post on two items I wish Apple would clear up or add in their next iOS update for iPhones and iPads. The first one is a must and is a big hassle to me when I fat finger it.

I’m talking about the audio controls that you can access from the lock screen by clicking the home button twice. My problem is the back, play/pause, and skip forward buttons are too close to each other that I have been known to try and pause a podcast only to hit the skip ahead button instead. So, instead of pausing in the middle of a 3 hour Joe Rogan podcast to pick back up at a later time, I just skipped over the remainder of what ever I am listening too. If I wanted to find out where I left off, I have to scroll through and try to remember what the time stamp was when I accidentally pushed the wrong button.

As you can see in the image that all three buttons are centered too closely to each other. There is a simple solution and that is to keep the play in the middle while pushing the skip and back arrows more to the outer edges of the screen. I don’t have fat fingers and I tend to hit the wrong buttons. I can’t even imagine if a portly 200+ lb user tries to pause their Jamie Oliver’s Ministry of Food podcast.

My next item really isn’t a gripe but a request to add an enhanced option inside of iTunes for when we are syncing our iDevices. One of my favorite options is the ability to fill up the rest of my iDevice’s unused space with random media from my iTunes library. This is great especially when I have 8Gb of unused space and I don’t feel like manually adding from my library. However, during the course of the day I am constantly downloading documents, apps, and other files that require space on my iDevice. I’m wondering if a slider bar can be added to this option that I can specify to set a designated amount of space to remain unused for day to day downloads and any other remaining space can be automatically filled with media files from my iTunes library.

I’m sure I could brain storm and nit pick on what small features or abilities I ant added but these are the two that come to mind every day I use my iDevice.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

