Bringing Back Family Game Night

It is time to put this back on the table. The tradition of a weekly family game night. A night where there is no TV, no Netflix, and amazingly, no soccer practices or games. A night where we all sit down and play one of our numerous board, card, or dice games. Either all 4 of us or 2 or 3…I’d say 5 but our cat, Matilda, only messes up the game boards or chews on the cards.

It’s time to brush up on my chess skills to take on lil Eddie. He is at that age where things just click on their own. He is building his own strategy and I can see in his face that he is planning ahead. Soon, I’ll have to increase my skill level so he does not beat me all the time. In chess, he has awhile to go to beat me. That was one of my games back in the day. Magic The Gathering, we almost break even when we play. I would say I win about 60% of the time.

It is time to start adding to our game shelves. It is that yard sale season. Anyone out their having a yard sale or getting rid of games, let me know! I need to get out their and find some missing classics for us. Some high on my list to find is a bigger chess set, Risk, Stratego, Mastermind, Othello, and Axis and Allies. Eddie’s been eyeing some non-traditional games that I am not accustomed to. Mainly games he sees at our local comic shops. You know the one’s that have instruction manuals as big as Cisco training text book. No not the one where you have to dress up, but I’m sure a d20 is needed to roll something.

I’m not against trying new games. Never have been, I just never had the chance or the close immediate friends that were also into it to play. It’s one thing to teach a friend Mancala or even Risk for the first time but trying teaching a game from TSR to anyone, especially when you have no clue on how it is played. Actually, I owned Marvel Super Heroes RPG. I read the manuals, tried to play practice games, but I do not think I was doing it right. I knew some kids that lived close by that probably were into it, but I didn’t know or didn’t bother to find out. Not because I thought it was nerdy or anything. I had my own nerdy things out in plain view that it didn’t matter to me.

Pretty soon our game shelves in the family room will be packed and it will be time to thing of our basement project. We want to convert the basement into a huge game room. It’s a big open space and there is already a poker table and air hockey down there. I want to add another long rectangle table, my desk, data cabinet for a server or two, couches, TV, shelves, and of course a small bar.I’m not going for that over the top media room, sports themed pub, or an over-the-top fantasy room (although his ideas go along with a lot of the decor styles in our home).

*On top of the games, anyone getting rid of 4-6 wooden chairs for my poker table?

Leave a Reply

