Salmon Fishing Trip in Pulaski

Last week, I went on a fishing trip with my dad, uncle, and a few firefighters to Pulaski, NY. This is the first time I’ve been to Pulaski since I was 15 years old. I was looking forward to this trip for months. If you are a fisherman and never went for salmon, well, you are missing out. The excitement and experience is well worth the drive to the salmon capital of the world.

We stayed in a gigantic camper at Brennan Beach. The weather was perfect. It was cold at night, which is good for the salmon to run up the river. And, the weather during the day was warm and sunny. A huge difference from the weather when I went last time which was freezing. There was one morning which it was pouring but that stopped as soon as we got to the water. Every morning I stood in the water before sunrise and heard the salmon running up towards me. Sometimes 4 or 5 fish at a time. I had a few run into me and through my legs. Where we fished was insane. I thought I was in a fish hatchery. I’d tell you where we went, but I would have to kill you then.

All of us caught our fair share of fish. I ended up limiting out everyday we went. Lot of the guys stopped keeping their fish and we did a fair amount of catch and release. We had fun reeling them in. At one point we had 5 of us with fish on and were walking up and over each other. We were laughing so hard. Some of it is on video and need to get a hold of it. At the end of the trip we came home with 49 salmon. It filled up 4 coolers. The most they ever brought home. Two of my nine were well over 30lbs. I will have photos soon. The Fat Bastard Fishing Club took over Pulaski last week.

Some notable experiences that occurred:
-One guy locked his keys in his rental car’s trunk and was trying to get it open while his front door was wide open.
-I plucked a salmon right out of the water as it swam in front of me.
-I reeled in someones lost line and ended up having a fish on it. I grabbed a stick and almost had it in. It snapped right in front of me. I took to long waiting for my dad to get his camera out.

Leave a Reply

