Kid’s Activities = Free Time For Me?

My oldest son, who is 7 years old, is getting involved in a bunch of extra activities like soccer and now cub scouting. These activities require me to race home from work, skip dinner, and take him there. This is done at least three times a week. I have no problem taking him there and I am glad he is involved with activities other than Legos and video games. Sure, I would like dinner when I get home. Or take my shoes off. Or have a beer. However, this is not always a bad thing.

Take cub scouting for example. This is his first year and I take him every Tuesday for an hour and a half. I could always drop him off and take off like other parents, but at what cost. As soon as I get home from the meeting place, I have 20 minutes to relax and turn around. Not really worth it. So, I end up sitting in my car and read a book, listen to my iPod, play the Nintendo DS, or set up my disc golf basket and practice in the field by the church.  I could also go up to the bar which I used to live by. This is usually some nice down time after a stressful day in the office. Otherwise, I’d be at home fiddling with some stressing home project, chores, or noises that occur inside my housing structure.

What makes this wrong is the cub scouts are always looking for parents to become leaders. So, while they are short-handed with male leaders, I am sitting outside enjoying my peace and quiet. Why won’t I volunteer? That’s a post/rant for another day.

Leave a Reply

